Emergency Physician of the Year Award  

            The purpose of this award is to recognize Clinicians of unusual merit, to espouse and encourage members to pursue the ideals of emergency medicine and to convey these same ideals to the public through the news media. To be eligible for this award the recipient must be: a current member of MCEP, an outstanding emergency physician role model, maintain high professional standards and clinical orientation, provide quality health care, and be active in community service and education. Current and past members of the MCEP Board of Directors and Officers are not eligible for this award. 


          The purpose of this award is to recognize clinicians of unusual merit, to encourage members to pursue the ideals of the clinical practice of emergency medicine.


The recipient will have exemplified outstanding service to the community, be an exceptional role model, maintaining high professional standards and possess a primary clinical orientation.  

Past Recipients Emergency Physician of the Year Award Recipients:


1999    Charles E. Jessup, DO, FACEP
2000    Charlene B. Irvin, MD, FACEP
2001    Clinton W. Wilson, MD
2002    Bruce M. Reinoehl, MD
2003    Harry W. Frederick, DO, FACEP
2004    Jere Baldwin, MD, FACEP                                                                                                                      
2005    Donald J. Brock, DO, FACEP                                                                                                                                                  
2006    Dale E. McNinch, DO, FACEP                                                                                                                                                  

2007    Edward A. Walton, MD                                                                                                                                                    
2008    Stephanie Duggan, MD, FACEP                                                                                                                                                

2009    Patricia P. Nouhan, MD, FACEP                                                                                                                                                   
2010    K. Don Edwards, DO, FACEP                                                                                                                                                  
2011    Mark W. Brautigan, MD, FACEP                                                                                                                                                  
2012    Margarita E. Pena, MD, FACEP
2013    Barry Nemon, MD, FACEP
2014    Mary Jo Malafa, MD, FACEP  
2015    Kimberly Kress Getzinger, MD    
2016    Robert Orr, DO, FACEP        
2017    Tolulope Sonuyi, MD